Thread: Halp! (Career advice needed)

Halp! (Career advice needed)

I wasn't sure what to label this thread because I have a lot of issues at hand. I have a Bachelor of Science degree in Computer Engineering Technology. It is a very broad degree that encompasses programming, web, electrical engineering, networking, and hardware. Besides all the technical topics, I constantly throw myself into the artistic side of things with my mods and knowledge of most of the Adobe CS3 suite. Also, I am teaching myself the new Unreal Engine editor as well as learning Japanese.

Beside all of this craziness, I have a full time as Digital Media Coordinator (web, video, graphic, writing, and advertising) for two major radio stations in Seattle AND I write tech reviews occasionally for (generally post them here as well).

Now that you basically know how insane I must be at the moment, since I have graduated from college in May of '07 all I wanted to do was be a part of the gaming industry, a writer/reviewer, or a designer at a tech company. I wanted to test games, but unfortunately a starting test job pays around $10 an hour and I make quite a bit more than that currently. Making games would be amazing, but I need to get my UT3 maps up before I can remotely apply for any of those jobs. Microsoft doesn't even want to touch me as they didn't recruit me out of college and the ol' Catch-22 of need experience to get experience is one of my biggest obstacles.

I was hoping that some of you might be a bit older and wiser than myself and could give me some pointers. I have a portfolio website started and still have a lot of content to add to it. I was hoping that a few of you with experience wouldn't mind giving out some advice and even looking over my resume and website to let me know what looks good and what looks... terrible. Its touch to find a good middle ground for both my artsy side and my techie side.