Thread: Powdercoat Question

Powdercoat Question

So I'm finishing up my new case and Its approaching time to add some color. Due to the nature of the case, It's going to need to be a very durable finish, because I know the normal spray paint I've used in the past will get lots of scratches really fast. I've never done this before so I really know nothing about it. One problem that I'm anticipating is that on a couple parts I've used bondo to smooth out some some parts. The rest of the case is steel. Can this even be powdercoated? If not what are my other options here? I'm happy to be limited in the colors, thats not a problem, I'm actually thinking of just black. Also, can someone prep me on what I might expect to pay for this? It's made of 3 main pieces, and 2 very small pieces, and together a little bigger than a standard case. And lastly, does anybody know of a good place to get this done in the LA area, particulary in the Valley?

Thanks guys.

Powdercoat Question

hey, not sure if you got an answer already, i see no one has replied. i would suggest a 2-stage paint (base coat w/ clear coat). thats how cars are painted and they are super durable. and less expensive, take your pc to a body shop, find the painter and ask if he does sidework...easy enuff

now, bout powdercoating, i am not sure, but i think if you can get the powder to stick to the bondo, it should work. That will probly be the hardest part, as I know they use some type of "charge" to the metal to help the powder stay on.

Powdercoat Question