Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: may be a problem....my power switch needs to be held...

  1. #1

    may be a problem....my power switch needs to be held...

    Hey guys i got a very small problem or im hoping its small....

    I was sleeving my power switch cable which goes to the mobo (which sends a signal to turn on the pc), and i dont know if i done something to it, but now everytime i hit the power switch and then release it, the mobo will power on, then off within 3 secs....

    If i hold the power button in though.....the machine will stay on for as long as i hold it in....

    It never used to do this, only started to do so after sleeving the cable....generally i hit the switch release it, and power stays on....then i hit the switch again when i want to turn off...

    Any assistance?

  2. #2
    Master Modder
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    2,059

    may be a problem....my power switch needs to be held...

    have you tryed anouther switch? when you hold the button does the screen flick on and the pc boot?? or just a black screen, lots of key factors i need to know before i can help you out buddy

  3. #3

    may be a problem....my power switch needs to be held...

    ya, sounds like a short. You didn't get any wires touching when you sleeved it did you? Try a new switch or take a closer look at everything.

  4. #4

    may be a problem....my power switch needs to be held...

    Maybe bad news....im hoping not though...

    Yesterday i plugged it into a monitor....switched on and held the power button down......nothing...dont get any display on the motherboard at all!!....

    Heres the wierd part....if i remove the 4pin p4 connector, switch the machine on, it will switch on without me having to hold the switch down....i don't get any display though!

  5. #5

    may be a problem....my power switch needs to be held...

    Did you by chance sleeve the PSU as well removing the wires from the molex?

  6. #6

    may be a problem....my power switch needs to be held...

    Hey - i had already sleeved the PSU long before i sleeved the power switch....

    It was only once i sleeved the power switch that it stopped powering up properly.

    I did however pull on the p4 4pin connector a little too much i think though at roughly the same time (and its quite a tight stretched fit)....could i have possibly shagged my p4 connector?...is it possible, i dont really have another psu to test with...

    Thats all i can think of...Ideas?

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. Power switch connectors
    By Pedro Ferreira in forum Modding Questions
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 09-14-2013, 03:20 PM
  2. Thermaltake Dr.Power II ATX Power Supply Tester
    By Dewayne in forum Modders-Inc Hardware Reviews
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 03-19-2013, 08:19 AM
  3. Connecting the power switch
    By ShamanS in forum Motherboards
    Replies: 21
    Last Post: 11-24-2009, 06:16 PM
  4. Power Switch
    By Echo in forum Modding Questions
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 07-04-2006, 04:58 PM
  5. Power Supplies ~ Info. Power Requirment Calc.
    By Ryan in forum Resource Database
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 04-09-2006, 01:12 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •