Thread: Need help Modding

Need help Modding

Hello,

I am a computer builder but Unfortunately am not a Modder.

I purchased a Lian Li PC-343B Modular case and want to Mod/change the internal cages that hold all the 5.25" drive bays. I thought I could just hire a metal worker & have them do what I was thinking but after 2 of them I am getting no where. It is very difficult to explain my needs here, but in summary just a easier way to add & remove the Devices, because the initial design of the cages in that case make it near impossible to get things in & out & have them aligned up in the front. I "would think" that something like this would be easy to make/do especially for the extremely talented Modders I see on this website.

Ideally what I would like is if someone who by chance who lives in or near North New Jersey to give me call & possibly come by so I can explain what I want done & I can pay them of course to do the work.

Please let me know & I hope this gets to someone that can help.

Thank you
    Jeff

Need help Modding

Well the alignment problem I can understand seeing that Lian-Li decided to use slots rather than pre-drilled holes. Although making new cages with pre-drilled holes (which would solve the alignment problem) is possible. It would also be very tedious trying to attempt it with the basic hand tools.

As far as the getting the devices in and out goes. Really their setup is pretty minimal. So I assume that you're talking with everything installed in the case. Could you post pics of the innards (cage angles) so that we can see what kind of constraints you have at the moment. Short of making the cages shorter, which will have a negative side to it (devices won't be held in as well), I can't think of anything that will alleviate a problem with installing devices.

Need help Modding

Hi Tazz

Thank you for the response

It is very complicated to explain even with pics. Also I dont have the correct tools nor know how.