Thread: Switching to SLi

Switching to SLi

I plan to switch to SLi this weekend and am looking for help/advice to make the process go smoothly.

I currently have 1 superclocked EVGA 260, have another to join it!

The mobo is an ASUS p5n-d.

Any suggestions that I need to be aware of (it's my first attempt with SLi).

Also, I'm interested in doing a test on the performance of the single card vs. the SLi installation ... any suggestions on what to use?

TIA! :mrgreen:

Switching to SLi

Stepping up eh?

Well. Installation is pretty straight forward. You're already running the one 260. So pretty much power down the system and physically turn the switch off at the back of the PSU (if it doesn't have one then pull the plug from it). Make sure the power has drained from the system (LEDs on board should go out after a few seconds).

Seeing that you have been running this setup for a good bit as is. I would recommend (doesn't have to be done) that you pull your existing card and blow out the fan and heatsink with some canned air. Introducing a second card for SLI is going to elevate your temperatures at the cards and in the system a little bit. Taking this precaution might alleviate any heat issues right off the bat. Once you have done that, install it back in the same slot.

You will need to make sure to pull out your mobo manual (or grab it from Asus's site). Make sure there isn't a jumper that needs to be set (shouldn't be on that board).

Install your second card in the black PCI-E slot and then route your PCI-E cables for the card. Once the card is seated and power is connected. You might want to go ahead and clean your case fans as well. I generally blow it all out whenever I pull a rig down.

If all is good, reconnect the power cord to the PSU (or flip the switch on if yours has it). Boot the system. Once it loads Windows it should pick up the new card (installing devices) and install the same drivers your current card uses.