Thread: In Vehicle Powered USB setup Questions

In Vehicle Powered USB setup Questions

First, Thanks for letting me post my ideas here. My name is Brian, New to custom mods, but I have been building my own machines since 1995. I am not the most knowledgeable in any specific area, but I try to make sure when I do speak I at least have done some basic research or personal testing.

idea: I am looking into buying a new car. Cadillac CTS. I wish to keep everything pretty much stock as it already has great equipment. The custom or mod I am looking to do is build a 6 port powered USB rail that will relay MP3 files to my radio. I will probably need an interface to convert the files to a signal that the head unit can read, but to move forward. The reason for a powered rail is so that not only can I use a 2 Gb thumb drive, I can also use 16Gb thumb drives and also 500Gb hard drives. The 6 ports are so that I can keep several thumb drives in almost constantly plugged in and the HD's can be swapped for the occasion.

I could do all the basic fab work and mounting myself into the glove box area. I already know what I want it to look like. I just don't know if it can be done. I am sure anything can be done. But I am thinking for under $100 USD. or even close to it. Any information, links, or more questions would be appreciated.

Thanks for your time.

You could get a 5-10 port USB hub and break it open. Find where the power goes to it and find a way to provide the 5v it requires to operate. Than can be done most likely using the Car's existing 12v system and a resistor. This will require some soldering and simple modifications but It can be done to look nice. Then it's just a matter of how you plan to interface the USB drives to the Radio. Which to me is the hard part really.

Now I know they make Car stereo's these days that actually do this but my guess is your trying to do this with the stock system. Is that correct?