Thread: My shopping list, please leave opinions on my selection

My shopping list, please leave opinions on my selection

So I'm a newbie here and to the whole case mod thing and to building my own computer from scratch so I figured on posting here and figuring out what you guys would think.

First off I already have a spare hard drive, case and dvd/cd-r

So here we go
    Raidmax 630w PSU: http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16817152035
    Foxconn Micro ATX Motherboard: http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16813186167
    Intel Core 2 duo E7500: http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16819115056
    2Gb of Kingston Ram: http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16820134488
    XFX GeForce GTS 250: http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16814150357
    Total cost with shipping $415 from Newegg

The computer will be housed in an Apevia X-Cruiser (which will be modded since the front bezel is missing) and will be used for gaming/media

Anyways my main goal here for this is to learn about how well I can trust the brands I've picked as well as how great/bad of a deal I'm getting from newegg.

Updated Sep 20th @8am

So long as you're not planning on overclocking it's probably a pretty good setup.

You might want to raise the PSU from 500W to at least 650W though IMO.

I've had no issues at all from Newegg and I would be more than happy to recommend them to anyone, as I've already done on several occasions.

I would also consider moving up to 64 bit from 32 at some point and maxing out your RAM. It makes game play a lot smoother and seamless.

Just my opinions and they're subject to review.

Clear Coat

seriously consider moving to a normal atx instead of Micro - usually gives you much better upgrade paths. I personally wouldnt recommend 2 memory slot board to anyone except a daily internet/email/document cruiser (and then I would recommend prebuilt)

just my 2pence.