Results 1 to 5 of 5

Thread: Hard Drives and Power

  1. #1

    Hard Drives and Power

    So I had a few questions about hard drives. The first is related to internal sata drives. I have a few drives that probably wont be used very often, long term storage, but I want to have a drive inside the case. Is there any way to have a switch to power this off while the computer is on? You don’t get the safely remove or eject option you do with internal drives, so I was just wonder what the situation was there.

    Also, if possible, would it change the situation if it were in a raid array, and the switch shut down the whole series of drives at once?

    And lastly I've noticed many cases of sata power being powered by only two wires, a 12v and ground. Usually in mitx builds. As well as in the molex to sata power adapters you don’t get the orange wire. is there any reason having all the wires is better? Or does the 2 wire setup work just as well?

  2. #2
    Clear Coat
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Posts
    878

    Hard Drives and Power

    I'm not sure why the adapters leave out the 3.3v (orange) wire -- perhaps its an option that lets the drive run more efficiently?

    As for the power switch thing -- I get a "remove disk" option for my internal SATA drives... I'm not sure why. so in that case you would just be able to "remove disk" the drives and hook up a switch to the power connections on all the drives.

  3. #3

    Hard Drives and Power

    I'm not sure why the adapters leave out the 3.3v (orange) wire -- perhaps its an option that lets the drive run more efficiently?

    As for the power switch thing -- I get a "remove disk" option for my internal SATA drives... I'm not sure why. so in that case you would just be able to "remove disk" the drives and hook up a switch to the power connections on all the drives.
    What OS are you on? I get that for all externals but no internal sata drives.

    And thats exactly my question with the extra wires. Id love to know if it makes them more efficient or makes any sort of difference. On top of ditching the orange wire, I've used this mini psu

    http://www.logicsupply.com/products/gp_87

    And as you can see it only uses 2 wires! Only 12v and ground. Using only 2 would definitely help with adding switches, but if it makes them less efficient then it might be a bad idea.

  4. #4
    Clear Coat
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Posts
    878

    Hard Drives and Power

    I'm running on Vista Ultimate (RED edition) 64bit. I have "Safely remove device" listed for my 500gb greenpower drive, and a 320 Maxtor -- both show up as "SCSI Disk Device" with a description of the drive letter(s) associated with them (3 partitions on the Maxtor, 1 on the GP)

  5. #5
    The Main Man Dewayne's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Arizona
    Posts
    3,646

    Hard Drives and Power

    I think your motherboard has to be "Hot Swap" capable for the hard drives in order to do what you are asking it to do. ;-)

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. Thermaltake Dr.Power II ATX Power Supply Tester
    By Dewayne in forum Modders-Inc Hardware Reviews
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 03-19-2013, 08:19 AM
  2. Hard coatings...
    By DeviceUnknown in forum General Modding Talk
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 10-10-2011, 07:19 PM
  3. Hard drive failures
    By Stealth in forum Talk Freely
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 02-03-2009, 02:12 PM
  4. Old Fat hard drives
    By AcidBurn in forum General Modding Talk
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 03-14-2008, 11:21 PM
  5. Power Supplies ~ Info. Power Requirment Calc.
    By Ryan in forum Resource Database
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 04-09-2006, 01:12 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •