Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Hi, A few questions...

Hi, A few questions...

Hello forum!

First up I'm a bit of a newbie when it comes to modding computers, or anything like DIY and stuff, but I'm quite a practical person, and I know the ins and outs of computer hardware how to install and upgrade and so on, I'm also what I would consider quite creative. Anyway.

I have been using the same old beige case for the past 2 or 3 years, It's not a pretty sight, the button heads are missing, the drive bay covers are missing, and I dont have the side panels on it because I like to have access into my pc incase something goes wrong, and i thought it would be nice to let air get in and out of it.

Anyway I was thinking recently that I need a new case, so I started looking on the net, (E-bay, E-buyer, and other places where I could find PC cases) and some of them are real nice. I think thought to myself maybe I could just buy a cheap case and make it look nice, I then looked up on Wikipedia on Case Modding, and found out all about microwave PC's and such, and decided that I would go ahead with it.

So I thought the best way to get some practice would be to use my current case and mod it, to see if it is all worth going through with (Like a test of my skill and patience) and I've got a few questions to start myself off.

I've already got the ideas for what i want to do, firstly I need mesh, I don't mind what colour as long as it's black. :P Can I buy black mesh? If so, where would be a good place to look? (Model shop? the internet?) If black mesh isn't easy to get, then what type of paint could I use to paint it black, and where would I get that? I'm pretty sure that painting the mesh would be the best option, as I would need to bend the mesh and if it has paint on it and I start bending it I'm pretty sure the paint would start to flake off. anyway that's my first question.