Thread: Water-cooling advice needed!

Water-cooling advice needed!

Hello everyone. I recently built my first custom water-cooled set up and I'm not sure if something is wrong. Everything seems to be working okay; no leaks, no BSODs from over-heating. I'm just not getting temps as low as I thought I would get for the $300+ investment. I'm no novice to building PCs, but like I said, this is my first custom H2O loop, so I may have missed something. My AMD Phenom II BE 3.0Ghz is what's being cooled. My max temp under load (Prime 95 for 1 hour) is about 56 C and the CPU idles between 34 and 38 C. I know this is well within safe operating temps, but after all that money and work, my temps aren't much lower than when I was air cooling with the ZALMAN CNPS 9500. I have experimented with different fan and pump speeds, different fan configurations (pulling vs pushing air through the rad) and I've reapplied the thermal paste, all without any noticeable change. I've been using Speedfan and CPUID Hardware Monitor to get my temps.
    Here are my full system specs:

AMD Phenom II 940 BE 3.0Ghz
    6GB DDR2 RAM
    ASRock AOD790GX/128M
    PNY GeForce GTX 460
    Cooler Master Silent Pro M 600W PSU
    Sound Blaster X-Fi

Koolance CPU-330 CPU block
    Koolance 2x120mm 30-FPI Copper Radiator
    Koolance RP-980BK Reservoir/Pump Combo
    Tygon tubing
    Fesser One Coolant
    Arctic Silver 5
    ENERMAX MAGMA UC-MA12 120mm Fans

Cooler Master 690II Advanced case

Are these temps normal? Am I doing something wrong? Is my CPU block 'good' enough?
    Any advice would be very much appreciated.

Basically the water, unless chilled wont get lower than - ambient room temp + the temp of the hardware. The main thing about Liquid cooling temps, is with the maximum temp reached while under load. I'll bet that when cooled with air and OCed, that CPU will reach much higher temps, and may even get dangerously high.