Thread: The Claw scratch case build

The Claw scratch case build

Update: 7-11-2011
    hey guys, im fairly new to the case fab scene, been modding xboxes and such for forever tho.
    im designing a case based on the Nvidia claw. right now i am still in the designing phase but i know what i want inside.
    Parts List
    AMD FX-8170 [[the whole reason for this build]]
    Asus Crosshair V Formula AM3+
    [[at least one]] GeForce GTX 590
    Ultra x4 1.05Kw PSU

thats the basics of the parts so far. i want to put a Corsair H100 CPU cooler in there, Air for the GPU(s)

Current Dilemma(s)
    How to attach the Chase Zone. and how to attach the Claw to the Chase zone.
    for the claw i want to use about 1"ID aluminum tubes, but then thinking about welding the tubes to the chase and the claw, how will i wire everything that way? so i think i would have to find another way to attach the tubes to one side, and weld to the other? i could seriously use some help with that one guys.

now what I havent sketched up yet is a model of the case, so its hard to tell, but the 'Claw' will be raised and backlit just like this sign;

Google Sketchup Models

i left all the details in for reference purposes A.K.A. BIG FILE WARNING
    The Claw

hopefully i can get some input from you guys!

this is a rough sketchup for reference purposes, i have the plans detailed under my own drafting skills. please dont point out the things like the floating USB ports and no weld lines and things like that. just enjoy the design and help me improve it please.

current model pictures;

Chase Zone; for wire management and hiding various other things.

power reset button handle behind the claw

PSU mounting bracket with and then w/out the PSU for reference

external USB ports; theres only four, located where the white rectangles are

Slot load Blu-Ray located inside the Chase Zone

my USB peripheral solution. a locking door that opens to the Chase Zone