Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Concrete Steel

Concrete Steel

This is to be my first stab at a complete "built from scratch" mod. The topic title says it, if you haven't guessed. It will be made out of concrete.

To start with, I'm a concrete contractor currently not working because of the winter weather and economy, but I won't go there. Hehe. I got the idea about 2 or 3 years ago and did nothing about. For one, new to the mod thing, secondly, time and money, and thirdly would be faith in myself. I've followed quit a few of the guys here and on other forums around the net and have taken a lot of mental notes.

I was searching around the net to find out if someone else had tried or done one and found one over at "TBCS" forums linked here. I found it to be very cool for sure. I even had a double entry in posting, must of had a brain fart or something.

Anyways, the last few days I've been tinkering in my little garage building forms and etc... I have some pictures for you all to look at and please comment on.

Thanks, and enjoy.

I 45'd the corners then sanded.

These are 2' by 4' 1/2" and 3/4" sheets of insulating styrofoam..

Started lay out of block outs for i/o plate, psu, and a rear fan.

Back side of mobo tray, these will be 3 windows about 2" by 14".

Top center 120 mm fan.

Side panel window block out.

More to come.

Concrete Steel

As promised, more photos, enjoy.

Side panel block outs with 1/4" ply "stuff", used for window insert.

Side panel window block out with 1/4" ply stuff used for window insert.

Caulking I used.

Side panel block out attachment.

Fan block outs.

Rear i/o panel block out.

All attached, front view.

And the back side.

Outside forms starting to be screwed together.

And the top form on.

Lastly a look inside.

Thanks for looking,

Concrete Steel